

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

Ann Arbor, MI 48106-1248 netmail@icpsr.umich.edu

Institute for Social Research

P.O. Box 1248

www.icpsr.umich.edu

(734) 647-5000 (734) 647-8200 fax

February 19, 2017

Dear Colleagues,

As you are aware, the ICPSR Council serves as the executive committee for ICPSR member institutions. The Council sets general policy for the Consortium, approves fees and budgets, and performs other duties. The Council consists of twelve members serving four-year terms. Six new members are elected by the Official Representatives every second year.

The Nominating Committee solicits your suggestions of persons with the experience, ability, and wisdom to serve on the Council. Responsibility and willingness to work are also vital. The Council meets three times each year, and members must devote time between meetings to review materials and undertake committee tasks.

The best way for the Nominating Committee to prepare a strong slate is to have suggestions from Official Representatives and other friends of the Consortium. We seek a diversity of people and perspectives. You may nominate someone from your own institution, or anyone you think is well-qualified. All Council members must be affiliated with member institutions. Council members need not be current or former Official Representatives, but they should be active supporters of the social and behavioral science research enterprise.

The slate of six nominees will be announced to Official Representatives during early fall 2017 during which there will be an opportunity for write-in nominations. The slate will be voted on by electronic ballot following the OR Meeting in October. Newly elected members of Council will be seated at the first meeting of Council in 2018.

The Nominating Committee also nominates one of the continuing members to serve a two-year term as Council Chair. We welcome your suggestions about who should serve in this position.

The members of the Nominating Committee are:

Robert S. Chen, Columbia University & CIESIN - bchen@ciesin.columbia.edu Colin Elman, Syracuse University - celman@maxwell.syr.edu Philip N. Jefferson, Swarthmore College - pjeffer1@swarthmore.edu Chandra L. Muller, University of Texas at Austin - cmuller@austin.utexas.edu Ronald Nakao, Stanford University Libraries - ronbo@stanford.edu William Vega, University of Southern California - williaav@usc.edu

ICPSR COUNCIL

Chandra L. Muller, Chair . University of Texas at Austin

Christopher H. Achen, Past Chair Princeton University

Christine L. Borgman University of California, Los Angeles

Robert S. Chen Columbia University & CIESIN Colin Elman Syracuse University

Jeremy Freese Northwestern University

Carleton University

Philip N. Jefferson Swarthmore College

Michael Jones-Correa Cornell University

Verna M. Keith Texas A&M University Ronald Nakao Stanford University Libraries

University of Pennsylvania

William Vega University of Southern California You should feel free to communicate directly with the members of the Nominating Committee (listed above), but it will help us if you send your suggestions to a special email address we have created: councilnominees@icpsr.umich.edu

In doing so, please provide a brief summary of the individual's qualifications, and *make sure that the nomination reaches us by April 10, 2017.* It would also be very helpful if you explained in your nomination why this person's expertise would be valuable to ICPSR.

For your information, current members of the Council are listed below. Thank you very much for your help with this important task.

Sincerely,

Margaret C. Levenstein

Director, ICPSR

Current members of the ICPSR Council:

Margaret C. Liverstein

Terms ending 2018:

Robert S. Chen, Columbia University & CIESIN Colin Elman, Syracuse University Philip N. Jefferson, Swarthmore College Chandra L. Muller, University of Texas at Austin Ronald Nakao, Stanford University Libraries William Vega, University of Southern California

Terms ending 2020:

Christine Borgman, University of California, Los Angeles Jeremy Freese, Stanford University Jane Fry, Carleton University Michael Jones-Correa, Cornell University Verna Keith, Texas A&M University Robert Stine, University of Pennsylvania